vendredi 24 septembre 2021

Les Finalistes des 2020 Chesley Awards

L'Association des Artistes de Science-fiction et de Fantasy (ASFA) a dévoilé les finalistes des Chesley Awards 2020, lors de la Virtual Nasfic 2020 de Columbus. Le vote (pour les membres de l'ASFA uniquement) afin de désigner les vainqueurs, débutera le 28 août et les gagnants seront annoncés lors d'une cérémonie virtuelle, probablement en octobre.
Best Cover Illustration: Hardcover
• Tommy Arnold pour Gideon the Ninth, Tamsyn Muir ( Publishing)
• Tran Nguyen pour The Storm Crow, Kalyn Josephson (Sourcebooks Fire)
• Karla Ortiz pour The Rage of Dragons, Evan Winter (Orbit)
• Feifei Ruan pour Descendant of the Crane, Joan He (Albert Whitman)
• Michael Whelan pour Empire of Grass, Tad Williams (DAW)
• Eric Wilkerson pour Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, Kwame Mbalia (Disney Hyperion)
Best Cover Illustration: Paperback or Ebook
• David Curtis pour Silver in the Wood, Emily Tesh ( Publishing)
• Jamie Jones pour The Warrior Moon, K Arsenault Rivera (Tor)
• Amanda Makepeace pour The Long List Anthology Volume 5, David Steffen, ed. (Diabolical Plots)
• David Palumbo pour Wildcards IX: The Jokertown Shuffle, George R.R. Martin, ed. (Tor)
• Dan Dos Santos pour The Cunning Man, D.J. Butler & Aaron Michael Ritchey (Baen)
• Jeremy Wilson pour Seven Blades in Black, Sam Sykes (Orbit)
Best Magazine Illustration
• Yoshitaka Amano pour Blood Borne 6/19
• Evan Cagle pour Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Chosen Ones #1, Mairghread Scott, Ornella Savarese, Celia Lowenthal & Alexa Sharpe (BOOM!)
• Matt Dixon pour Clarkesworld 5/19
• Tiffany England pour “Into the Wild Blue Yonder” (Cricket 10/19)
• Tithi Luadthong pour Lightspeed 6/19
• Reiko Murakami pour Lightspeed 1/19
Best Interior Illustration
• Francois Baranger pour The Call of Cthulhu, H.P. Lovecraft (Design Studio)
• Audrey Benjaminsen pour “The Time Invariance of Snow”, E. Lily Yu ( 12/14/19)
• Amanda Makepeace pour “Fanfare pour Rose” (Amazing Stories Spring ’19)
• John Picacio pour Ninth House, Leigh Bardugo (Flatiron)
• Armando Veve pour “Knowledgeable Creatures”, Christopher Rowe ( 3/6/19)
• Allen Williams pour Pan’s Labyrinth: The Labyrinth of the Faun, Guillermo del Toro & Cornelia Funke (Katherine Tegen)
Best Color Work: Unpublished
• Bruce Brenneise, “If Stones Could Cry” (digital)
• Martina Fačková, “Spellbinding Terror” (digital)
• Te Hu, “Who am I? — La Marcarena” (digital)
• Debbie Hughes, “The Raven, the Wolf and the Maiden” (oil on panel)
• Elizabeth Leggett, “The Devil/The City” (digital)
• David Seidman, “The Divine Migration” (digital)
• Lauren Raye Snow, “Anima Sola I” (digital)
Best Monochrome Work: Unpublished
• Ken Cunnningham, “Both Their Coats Were Heavy” (graphite powder on dura-lar)
• Jeff Echevarria, “Doctor, My Eyes” (charcoal, graphite, and gouache)
• Tehani Farr, “Gyhan akaii dannan Deli Iatt (She who sits at the end of the world upon a mountain of bones dreaming)” (mixed media, watercolor, graphite pencil)
• Melissa Sue Stanley, “The Tootsie Monster” (graphite)
• Allen Williams, “The Hidden Light” (powdered graphite pencil, oil on board)
Best Three-Dimensional Art
• Daria Aksenova, “The Crane Wife” (pen, ink, and goldleaf)
• Sara Felix, “The Cosmic Egg” (mixed media)
• Kristine Poole, “The Spinner of Dreams” (bronze)
• Forest Rogers, “Selene” (mixed media)
• Vincent Villafranca, “Unbridled and Unfettered” (bronze)
Best Gaming-Related Illustration
• Wylie Beckert, “Rosethorn Acolyte” (Wizards of the Coast)
• Iris Compiet, “Brazen Borrower” (Wizards of the Coast)
• Melissa Gay, “Summer Dandelion” (Changeling Artist Collective)
• Winona Nelson, “Lonesome Unicorn” (Wizards of the Coast)
• Omar Rayyan, “Flaxen Intruder” (Wizards of the Coast)
• Charles Urbach, “King By His Own Hand” (GameHole Con)
Best Product Illustration
• Oliver Barrett, “Full Metal Jacket” (Mondo Poster)
• Tehani Farr, “The Sky Mage” and “The God Eye” poster art (Pawahtun Festival)
• Emily Hare pour the Dragons 2020 calendar • Kez Laczin pour cover art pour the song “Stronger”, TheFatRat (Monstercat)
• John Picacio, “La Cantarita” (Lone Boy)
• Rachel Quinlan, Olde Fae tuck box (Changeling Artist Collective)
Best Art Director
• Christine Foltzer
• Irene Gallo
• Kate Irwin
• Lauren Panepinto
• Nadine Schäkel
• Cynthia Sheppard
Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award
• Yoshitaka Amano
• Stephanie Law
• Gregory Manchess
• Iain McCaig
• Syd Mead
• Wendy Pini
• Allen Williams

Derniers articles